Tamara Murphy has released 9 albums and appears on over 30 recordings by other artists. She has toured Australia and internationally, performing in Japan, China, Europe, the UK and New York.

Currently, Tamara Murphy performs with Kate Miller-Heidke, Ali McGregor, Harry Angus, Clio Renner, Andrea Keller, Nat Bartsch, Paul Grabowsky and her own group, Spirograph Studies, along with many others.

In 2019, Spirograph Studies released their debut album, Kindness, not Courtesy (shortlisted for Music Victoria award) and toured throughout Australia and New Zealand.

Previously, Murphy ran her quintet Murphy’s Law, and was a member of Keller-Murphy-Browne with Andrea Keller and Allan Browne. She is part of the trio Stoneflower (with vocalist Jacqueline Gawler and guitarist Stephen Magnusson). She performs and composes for many other projects and her albums have been nominated for The Age Genre Music Awards, AIR awards and The Australian Bell Awards.

Murphy was awarded the inaugural PBS Young Elder of Jazz Commission in 2011 and her compositions have appeared on albums by other artists, including vocalist Elly Hoyt, ATM15 Big Band, pianist Tony Gould and saxophonist Rob Burke. In the last five years she has worked as a musical director and arranger for the Brunswick Music Festival and Monash University’s MLIVE Progress Festival. In 2019, she was shortlisted for the National Live Music Awards (Best Jazz Act).

Tamara Murphy currently lectures at the VCA, Box Hill Institute and Monash University.